After recently garnering the highest honor awarded by the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) - The Seal of Good Local Governance and the Seal of Good Financial Housekeeping, Caloocan City will be awarded anew, this time, the 2015 Local Legislative Award.

Garnering second place in the highly urbanized city category, the Caloocan City Council earned 94% rating from the evaluators of DILG.


Guided by the award criteria and results, the DILG commended the Caloocan City Council in sustaining its progressive performance, especially in legislative measures responsive to the needs of the community.

Maria Lourdes Agustin, DILG NCR Director said that Caloocan City is commendable for its orderly records and office management, with its exemplary performance in legislative measures relevant to the city's development.

For his part, Caloocan City Mayor Oscar Malapitan congratulated the council members, saying "this award is a manifestation that the city government is truly responsive to the needs of the people, and is doing its best to improve the lives of its constituents".

The Caloocan City Council is presided by Vice Mayor Macario Asistio III, with its members, Councilors: Dale Gonzalo Malapitan (Liga ng mga Barangay President), Carmelo Africa, Dean Asistio, Aurora Henson Jr., Marilou San Buenaventura, Dra. Susana Punzalan, Karina Teh, Carolyn Cunanan, Milagros Mercado, Roberto Samson, Allen Aruelo, Chito Abel and Tolentino Bagus.