§  From its beginning as a humble barrio of the town of Tondo located in a ‘libis’ (lowland), it became known as ‘Libis Espina’ or ‘Aromahan’.

§  Originating either from the Tagalog word ‘look’ meaning bay or ‘sulok’ meaning corner.  Caloocan might have meant ‘nasa sulok’ or in the corner since Caloocan is located where the ends of the old town of Tondo and Tambobong (now Malabon) meet.


§  At the end of the 18th century, the fishermen of Aromahan climbed the hills to open homesteads in Caloocan.  Here, the land was free of thorny plants that infested the banks/ shorelines and although the hill was naturally stony, some form of agriculture was possible and fishermen became farmers.

§  In 1815, Caloocan was separated from Tondo and became an independent municipality.  Its original territory extended to the foothills of Marikina, San Mateo and Montalban in the east; from Tinajeros, Tanza and Tala Rivers in the North; San Francisco del Monte, Sampalok, Sta. Cruz and Tondo in the south; and Dagat-Dagatan or Aromahan in the west.

§  The first settlers of Libis Espina, mostly oppressed people from Tondo, fought the landlords of Hacienda de Maysilo, the upper lands of the Dagat-dagatan area, the battle for terrestrial rights went on for almost a hundred years.

§  On August 30 1896, the Katipuneros led by Gat Andres Bonifacio aided them in the rebellion against their oppressors in what is now known as the “Cry of Balintawak”.

§  The Filipino forces in Caloocan participated actively in Intramuros siege of the Spanish forces in Manila until their surrender to the Americans on August 13, 1898.

§  On January 11, 1899, the people of Caloocan showed resistance to coming to terms with the Americans, who were bent on extending their supremacy over the country.

§  The men of Caloocan fought the new invaders on February 23, 1899, victory eluded the local troops on the pretext of Gen. Antonio Luna’s rift with Aguinaldo’s loyalists.


§  In 1901, under the American Regime, Caloocan became one of the towns of the Province of Rizal.  Due to the consolidation of several municipalities, Novaliches became part of Caloocan pursuant to Act 942, as amended by Acts 984 and 1008 of the Philippine Commission.

§  In 1939, pursuant to Commonwealth Act 502, which created Quezon City as Capital of the Philippines, Caloocan lost the following barrios or sitios, namely: Balingasa, Kaingin, Kangkong, La Loma, Malamig, Matalahib, Masambong, San Isidro, San Jose, Santol and Tatalon.


Map No. G-2

Original Territorial Boundaries

In 1949, boundaries of Quezon City were redefined pursuant to Republic Act 392 as recommended by the Capital City Planning Commission.  Caloocan again lost several barrios, namely: Baesa, Bagbag, Bahay-Toro, Banlat, Novaliches, Pasong Tamo, San Bartolome and Talipapa.  This explains why the City of Caloocan has two separate territories.


§  In 1961, the late Mayor Macario B. Asistio, Sr., led the people of Caloocan to turn the historic town into a city through a plebiscite held in accordance with House Bill 6038, which was passed and approved by both chambers of the defunct Philippine Congress.

§  On February 16, 1962 Caloocan was inducted into Cityhood


§  Caloocan has a combined total land area of 5,333.40 hectares and is located at the northern part of the National Capital Region (NCR, Region IV-A).

§  The city is divided into two geographic locations, namely: South Caloocan, with an area of 1,362.50 hectares and North Caloocan, with an area of 3,970.90 hectares.

§  South Caloocan is bounded on the north-northwest by Valenzuela, Malabon and Navotas; on the east by Quezon City; and on the south by the City of Manila.  The greatest length, north to south of the boundaries is about six kilometers and the greatest width, east to west is seven kilometers. 

§  North Caloocan, on the other hand, is bounded on the north-northwest by the province of Bulacan; on the south-southeast by Quezon City; and southwest by Valenzuela.  Its extreme southern boundary is about 1.7 kilometers apart from the northern extreme boundary of South Caloocan.  The greatest length, north to south of the boundaries is eight kilometers and the greatest width, east to west is ten kilometers.




§  The City of Caloocan is divided into two political boundaries, namely: District 1 and District 2.

§  District 1 is composed of 70 barangays, which include Barangays 1 to 4, 77 to 85 and 132 to 188.

§  District 2 is composed of 118 barangays, which include Barangays 5 to 76 and 86 to 131.

§  The two districts are furher divided into 16 zones, which is composed of 188 barangays. The breakdown is as follows:



Zone 01 – Barangay 01 – 12

Zone 09 – Barangay 094 – 105

Zone 02 – Barangay 13 – 24

Zone 10 – Barangay 106 – 120

Zone 03 – Barangay 25 – 35

Zone 11 – Barangay 121 – 131

Zone 04 – Barangay 36 – 48

Zone 12 – Barangay 132 – 141

Zone 05 – Barangay 49 – 58

Zone 13 – Barangay 142 – 155

Zone 06 – Barangay 59 – 70

Zone 14 – Barangay 156 – 164

Zone 07 – Barangay 71 – 80

Zone 15 – Barangay 165 – 178

Zone 08 – Barangay 81 – 93

Zone 16 – Barangay 179 – 188